Building a completely DIY RC plane with arduino

Hi All,

I'm planning to make a complete DIY RC plane. But I'm new to aerodynamics, RC plane material and the design aspects. I need your guidance to make it successful. What i need to know are:
What kind of material is best for making the plane?
comparing the price and ease of availability which is better material, I planned to make it with thermocol, sticking two layer of thermocol and placing some strong material for rigidity in between? Is it possible? Are thermocol good to make the air foil shape?

What should be the minimum rating of the BLDC i need to select?
Which will be the cheaper and better power source for the electronics?
Help me to get a proper design of the wings, shape, fuselage?
Where should i put the motor? in the fuselage or two motors below the wings?? which is better and easy?
what all kind of settings should be included to get a flexible control?
And also about the propeller.

I would like to continue this discussion till my design complete, so people who want help for this subject can refer from this, so kindly put your suggestion. :slight_smile:
Thank You

I would strongly suggest starting with a kit for a high winged electric trainer, flying with rudder and elevator. Learn to fly, trim and test the plane using standard RC, then attempt to incorporate a home built RC system. I'm not saying you can't do what you plan, making everything from scratch and having never flown an RC plane have success, but I would try to do it in baby steps and with a proven airframe first. There are some good starter kits with foam fusilage and wings, or even stick fusilage and foam wings like an Ugly Stick. Ugly sticks are easy to fly and can carry large payloads. The high wing design makes them self righting and not requiring ailerons. You can pretty much fly them with the elevator, level it out at altitude, then turn to keep in close. A good beginner design.