Building a Mood-Light

Hello,

I am pretty new to electronics, so please be patient with me. :)

I´d like to build a Mood-Light. The Mood-Light should have 3 programs, one where the color of the RGB LEDs can be adjusted, another one where the colors cycle through the colors of the Rainbow and a third program which imitates a candle.

My question is mostly regarding the first mode. I´d like to use 3 potentiometers for adjusting each of the colors individually. For that I want to use 3 7-Segment-Displays for each color to show the actual intensity of the color (from 0 to 255). I was planing to control 4 RGB LEDs, for the Mood-Light to be bright enough. That makes a total of 67 LEDs (or better 75 LEDs, since the RGB count as 3 LEDs), which in my calculation would use ca. 1500mA all together. First I thought of using 74HC595 Shift-Registers to control the 7-Segment-Display but now I am concerned about the power consumption.

The components I am having around so far are: 3 10k Potentiometers 9 Kingbright SA03-11GWA (common anode) and some RGB LEDs

Maybe someone can hint me to a source which explains how to calculate the power consumption and/or how I can handle this amount of LEDs with them being bright enough. Any other suggestions are also more than welcome. :)

-EinTyp

For that I want to use 3 7-Segment-Displays for each color to show the actual intensity of the color (from 0 to 255).

A serial LCD could be controlled using 1 pin. Something to consider…

How about providing links to the hardware you are talking about?

In addition to PaulS's suggestion to use an LCD display, you could easily play around with one of these:

http://www.sparkfun.com/products/8579

to test out your idea.

Thanks for your considerations so far.