Building a new house. IDEAS?

Hi Folks.
I’m building a new house in Vancouver, BC. The house is currently in the Framing stage and I’m want to run the main floor lighting using Arduino and Low voltage key pads to control the lighting as well as WIFI. I’m having the electricians wire all the lights to a closet. In this closet i plan to pull CAT 5 cable to 3 keypads. The main floor is about 1400sq feet. Almost all the lights on the main floor are pot lights. Some will be running low voltage. I’m just learning arduinos and programming them. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. And if anyone locally wants to help please contact me. kweese1@yahoo.com

I also plan to build the theatre room controls into a wall covered by a cabinet door for the speakers.

one tip,
place extra tubes (1") to starategic locations in the house so you can add extra wires later.
Also lay (spare) tubes to your kitchen garden (at least to the outside wall), veranda garage etc for future use

Is it not for Arduino cabling you can use it for additional cabling to wifi nodes.

Also make tubes to the doors so you can sense the state of a door or optionally add servo's to automatically open / close doors like in star-trek.

i'm going to be putting cat 5 cable to most of the light switches. and thermostats.

I’ve built a circuit using a SRD-05vdc-SL-C as the relay connected as normally OPEN:
i’m using a push button.

I modified the BUTTON tutorial. however, Something is wrong.
Can someone help me troubleshoot?

i am trying to use this sketch:

/*Button
Turns on and off a RELAY SWITCH connected to digital
pin 13, when pressing a pushbutton attached to pin 2.

The circuit:

• RELAY attached from pin 11 to ground
  • pushbutton attached to pin 2 from +5V
  • 10K resistor attached to pin 2 from ground

created 2005
by DojoDave http://www.0j0.org
modified 30 Aug 2011
by Tom Igoe

This example code is in the public domain.

*/

// constants won’t change. They’re used here to