Building a power rail for a project – help choosing wire gauge please

Hi all,

I'm tackling my first major arduino project and need some help with the electrical safety side of things. Specifically, I need to figure out what gauge wire to use to safely build a power rail. I'm a lawyer – not an engineer – so the electrical side is a bit new to me, though I'm trying to learn.

Right now I'm building a proto board to distribute power. The project uses both 12v and 5v components, so the board takes a 12v input and then uses a 12 -> 5v regulator I bought to split it off into a 5v rail.

The two rails have the following draws at peak load:

5v: up to 30 30ma LEDs (so about 900ma), 4 shift registers @ ~80ma, 6 moisture sensors @ 50ma. Total current of 1.52A.

12v: 1.1A pump, up to 6 500ma solenoids, and (indirectly) everything on the 5v side. Total current, including the 5v side, of 5.62A.

It's very unlikely that all of that would be powered on at once, but I'd like to build for that case.

This website:

seems to indicate that 22ga wire can handle up to 7A for "chassis wiring," which I assume is what I'm doing here. My questions are 1) is that correct? and 2) is that 1.5A over my theoretical peak load enough of a safety margin?

Thanks for any help you can provide. If I haven't been clear, happy to provide any additional info required.

Use a SMPS.

A 12 to 5 regulator @ 1.5 amps means you have to dissipate 7*1.5=10.5watts.
You will have big problems!

LarryD, thanks for your reply. I'm trying to avoid buying components to the greatest extent possible, so would like to find an alternative to a SMPS. Am I correctly understanding that dissipating 10.5W generates an unacceptable amount of heat?

If I power my LEDs with the 12v rail instead and use a larger resistor, I think I can get the load on the voltage regulator down to about 500mA peak and dissipate only 3.5W. Is that a manageable amount?