Building an IR touch frame… faisability

Hi everybody !

I'm working on building my own IR touch frame, for those who are wondering what is it, let's check for PeauProductions products :

https://www.peauproductions.com/collections/pq-labs-g6-integration-kit-touch-frames/products/z-pq-g6-ig-32

I have been working for few days on some solutions and I would like to show you what I want to do... The main question is "Will this mess work ?" I am not an expert so feel free to tell me things that are going wrong. Instead of asking you a question without any context, I will try to show you my reflexion, maybe that could help...

(And I'm sure you've already guessed that english itsn't my first language :p)

So take a cup of tea or coffee and let's go !

An Infrared touch frame is based on an array of IR Leds and photodiodes (or phototransistors but I'm currently working with photodiodes) forming a grid, when a person touch the screen, he stops the IR flow horizontaly and verticaly, puting some diodes in the shadow, we can then compute the actual position of the finger on the screen.

My frame is a 64*64 points touch screen, that means 64 IR leds facing 64 photodiodes verticaly and another 64 IR leds facing 64 photodiodes horizontaly. The microcontroller is an arduino micro acting as a HID device.

This projet has many concerns, basically the IR leds draw 100mA EACH ! So the deal is to power them one by one and to check the facing photodiode(s).

=> - IR LED
)= - Photodiode

=>                                     )=
=> Only one powered on                 )=
=> =================================== )=
(64 times)

This post isn't about powering the IR LED but about dealing with the photodiodes (and reading 128 values !!!)

Let's start with one photodiode, so easy, here is the basic usage schema of a photodiode (thank you the internet)