Building my own GPS tracker & vehicle kill switch

Hello all,

I'm working on a project that involves building a GPS tracking system & ignition kill switch.

My only requirements are that the tracking is live, the kill switch is remotely activated and multiple vehicles can be seen/tracked on a single map interface (eg managing a fleet). I know that there are many retail products available, but i need to tweak the software it to suit my own needs.

I have never used Arduino before and am still learning a lot of the basics.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for hardware requirements? Once that's established, I'll need to keep working on some software!

Thanks in advance...

You'll need a GPS receiver. If you're committed to using an Arduino as the controller, it'll need to be an Arduino-compatible one. There are plenty to choose from.

You'll need to provide some communication mechanism. A 3G/4G modem seems like the most obvious choice. Again, it'll need to be compatible with your controller and there are plenty to choose from.

You'll need a mechanism for the controller to kill the vehicle. One option would be to insert a relay into the ignition circuit. You will need an driver circuit between the Arduino and the relay. Note that relay reliability and durability would be an important concern.

You will need to design all the analog electrics to cope with the noisy electrical environment in a car. That means a regulated and filtered power supply, and shielded enclosure for the controller, all incoming signal lines shielded and all incoming analog lines filtered against EM spikes.