building Voltmeter with 100 probes

Hey all,

I’m looking for a guidance to build a multi probe voltmeter which will be able to take a measure of 100 probes automatically (not at the same time). I’m thinking of getting some controllers and to config them to jump from prob to prob until the last prob. the info of the voltage of each prob will have to be written in the program and the data will have to be saved.

I’m pretty new to this stuff, I know a basic programming in arduino, so don’t be too harsh on me :slight_smile: .

my question is - which model of controllers should I use?
and how to program the controllers to run from prob-line to prob-line.

the main idea is to build a device that will be able to test electronic voltages’ boards from test points to Ground. the minimum test points on each board should be 100.

appreciate the help!
thanks

How fast do you need this to happen?
How accurate the measurements need to be?
What is the expected voltage range you will measure?

Are your voltages less than 5V?

If so, you could use 4067 analog multiplexer chips and the analog inputs of an Arduino. Each chip takes 4 digital outputs to select from among 16 analog inputs. You'll need 7 chips to get 100 (112, actually) inputs. The UNO only has 6 analog inputs so you either need an SMD-based Arduino (Nano, Mini, Fio, Pro or Pro Mini) which has 8 analog inputs or the Arduino MEGA 2560.

25 years ago a reed switch multiplexer was the best you could buy for low level signal measurements. We used a data logger made by Schlumberger. It probably had boards that looked something like the following
http://www.pickeringtest.com/en-au/products/pxi-switching/multiplexer-modules/low-density-mux

johnwasser:
You'll need 7 chips to get 100 (112, actually) inputs. The UNO only has 6 analog inputs so you either need an SMD-based Arduino (Nano, Mini, Fio, Pro or Pro Mini) which has 8 analog inputs or the Arduino MEGA 2560.