Burglar alarm help

I am in the process of making a burglar alarm system. There will be a main box with arduino nano in, that will be connected to the sensors (PIR Ect.) This will be in our back utility room.

I then want a pannel about 10- 20 meters away at the front door that will have an RFID reader and a I2c LCD panel. The plan at the moment is to have another Nano in here. This panel at the front door will send a digital pins out 5v signal back to the main Nano to turn the alarm on or off. The wiring will be the existing burglar alarm wireless installed in the house. 12v will be supplied down the cable to power the Nano at the front door.

Question 1. Will the nano 5v pin out be able to work over that distance?

1. Any other better ideas?

I know that I could use a relay either end but I don't really want to have a big relay at the front door. (Maybe transistors?) I am not very experienced so go easy please!

1. Will the nano 5v pin out be able to work over that distance?

As an on-off signal, yes.

If you're running power over a distance you might get voltage drop (depending on the current, the wire gauge, and the distance).

I know that I could use a relay either end but I don't really want to have a big relay at the front door. (Maybe transistors?)

A relay or transistor for what? For the 5V, you don't need it.

The wiring will be the existing burglar alarm wireless installed in the house. 12v will be supplied down the cable to power the Nano at the front door.

If you are mixing the existing 12V system with the 5V electronics, you'll need to accommodate that. The Arduino can be damaged by 12V, and if you send a 5V signal into the 12V alarm, it may not be enough.

use 12 volts. it is very easy to power the Arduino with 12 volts. it is very eary to put in a voltage divider or even an opto-coupler to work with 12 volts in and 5 volts out.