Button cell batteries don't provide enough voltage

This might seem like a really stupid question but I'm a noob at electronics. I managed, through process of elimination, many tutorials and some guidance on these forums, to program an ATtiny85 microcontroller to light a blue LED and power a piezo to make a buzzing sound. Everything works perfectly when the breadboard is hooked up to the 5v plug on the Arduino Uno board, but when I hook the contraption up to a 6v battery supply, it doesn't work. Am I missing something that 5v is enough to power everything but 6v is not? I'm using a set of 4 button-cell batteries for the power.

Four button cells may not be able to supply enough current. Measure how much current it's drawing from the 5V (It's from the USB I assume) and see how much it is from the batteries.

I figured it was an amperage issue. I'm using my multimeter but can't seem to get a good reading from the Arduino Uno. Does anyone happen to know off hand the tech specs of the Arduino 5v supply? Obviously, 5v, but what's the amperage (I'll also take it in milliamps).

DoctorOctoroc: Obviously, 5v, but what's the amperage (I'll also take it in milliamps).

The current rating of the power supply has nothing to do with the Arduino. It'll provide whatever current its power supply will provide.

In order to measure current, you must break the circuit. A current measurement is made in series with what you want to measure. (Unlike measuring voltage which is done in parallel.)

FYI, Button cells can only provide 2-3mA in a surge. That's probably not enough to power your circuit.