Button having several button states

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to arduino and I have little to no experience with coding. I’ve tried to read tutorials but certain aspects of it are hard to understand in such a short time. I can sort of follow how the code’s output can be, but I get lost so easily.

Basically I have 2 linear actuators set up each with their own HY-SRF05 UltraSonic Sensors and I’m trying to use 3 buttons to change the height as well as remember the set height. If I click the top button, the actuator moves up, if I click the bottom button, the actuator moves down, if I keep the center button pressed for more than a second, the arduino remembers the height, and if I click the center button once, the height gets adjusted to the remembered height. If I click the center button again and the height is equal to the remembered height, it returns to the lowest height setting.

I hope that logic isn’t too confusing, but in reality it’s very simple. I have the top and bottom buttons physically hooked up to relays to drive the actuators, but my problem is using the center button to remember a height and change its height automatically based on the longevity of the press.

As for the code, I’ve downloaded a library to read heights in real time and print them to the serial monitor, I just don’t know how to maneuver the code in order to work with the data and to work in certain situations. Thank you

Show us a good schematic of your circuit.
Show us a good image of your wiring.
Give links to components.
Posting images:

Use CTRL T to format your code.
Attach your ‘complete’ sketch between code tags, use the </> icon in the posting menu.
[code]Paste your sketch here[/code]

I have the top and bottom buttons physically hooked up to relays to drive the actuators

Indirectly through the Arduino I hope?
If the switches are directly connected to the relays then that is totally half baked IMHO.

The code in this link illustrates different button click types

...R