Button Press Count

So I am new to using and coding in Arduino and have almost no experience besides some basic tutorials. What I want to do is use the push button that comes with the arduino to control an LED. I want the LED to stay on if the button has been pushed 5 times or less, and then turn off when the it has been pushed 6 times. I was trying to use a If…Else… logic, Attached is what I have so far. The code runs but the light just stays on, I believe this is due to the fact that there is no count of the button press, but I’m not sure how to fix this issue.

int p=0;
void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
  pinMode(2,INPUT);
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
  p=digitalRead(2);
  if (p <=5)
  {
    digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
  }
  else
  {
    digitalWrite(13, LOW);
  }
}

ButtonPressCode.txt (307 Bytes)

Read through the 'how to use this forum' posts at the top of certain topics. Lots of useful info including, information on posting using code tags.

In the Arduino IDE are examples demonstrating basic concepts (IDE/file/examples/...). Among the most basic are debouncing and state change detection. The code's already written for you and many require only an external switch wired to an input. Study them. If you don't know what something like if([i]condition[/i]) means go to the reference page for a brief explanation.

What I want to do is use the push button that comes with the arduino to control an LED.

Does this mean the button mounted on the Arduino board or, a switch, along with some other parts, that came packaged with the Arduino?