Button pressed for 5 seconds not exiting while loop

Hi all, I want to start by saying I’m not a programmer at all, I’m an engineering student working on a project and have been trying to work on a prototype and have been struggling getting it to work.

So this is what my code is supposed to do. I’m trying to make a button that unlocks something only under the condition that a certain time has passed (when the k value reaches 3). When my button is unplugged, it tests correctly: counts k value until it hits 3, when k > 3 it reads the digital input (lockread) of my switch, if val = 0 nothing happens.
The next part is what isn’t working. In the while loop, I want it to read whether the button has been held down for 5 seconds (hence the i > 5), once it detects the button being held down for 5 seconds, I want it to declare “open.” The problem is, once it reads a single input from the switch, it stays stuck in this while loop. If I press the switch once, “val” stays at 1 regardless if I’m holding it or not.
I also want it to completely reset the entire loop once you let go of the switch.

I’m using an Arduino Uno, and my switch is just a basic gate switch plugged directly into the 3.3V output. The Serial.prints are just my method of testing without plugging everything in so I can diagnose.

Can someone please explain why it isn’t working? Or if there is a better function for this? I appreciate any help, thanks!

Code:

int lockread = 8;
int mosfet = 13;
unsigned long val;
int k;
void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(lockread,INPUT);
  pinMode(mosfet,OUTPUT);
  k = 0;
}

void loop() {
  Serial.println("INITIALIZING");
  delay(3000);
  int i = 0;
  k++; 
  Serial.print("k: ");
  Serial.println(k);
  while (k > 3) {
    val = digitalRead(lockread);
    if (val == LOW) {
      Serial.print("val: ");
      Serial.println(val);
    }
    while (val == HIGH) {
         Serial.println(val);
         Serial.print("i: ");
         Serial.println(i);
         delay(1000);