Button that gives an Output, Has a small delay --- then gives another

Hey everyone!

I'm pretty new to the Arduino scene, and my question will likely be solved simply by some more experienced fellows. I'm trying to create a code for a switch/ button that when you press it, it generates an output--- then waits (delays?) and produces another (after that set amount of time) before ending that transfer of information. Can any insight be shed on this? What would that look like? For example, the code that I am currently experimenting with is something like this :

if(buttonisPressed){
Function1 = 1; // Original output is issued

delay(1000); // Set time delay for the next output

Function2 = 1; // The second output follows suit after the set amount of delay time (only after one press, without a secondary)
}

This is the gist of the code I am using, but I haven't been able to get it to work.

Thanks so much for your help! Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated.

Why imagine? Type it in and give it a go.

-jim lee

@jimLee

Hey Jim! Thanks for taking the time to respond. I should have mentioned that with this code as earlier written, the desired effect does not happen. Upon the initial button press, no output is issued (instead there is a delay where all information transfer is cut off...it seems to be circumventing any other bit of code and jumping straight into the delay? I know that the delay code is definitely being considered --- the time in the delay() is always reflected in the break of information) and afterward there is no secondary output either.

Any recommendations? The problem-solving continues. I'd like to know if I'm even in the correct ballpark with using a delay() code as the route to manifest this behavior.

Remember, the goal is to press a button and for the output function to be activated ---- then after a small delay a secondary output is activated.

Thanks again!

Ok, look at what you wrote. :

This is the gist of the code I am using