Button to start timer, then reset timer

I am writing code for a countdown timer, and I would like to have one button which when pressed will start the loop that counts down, and when I press it again it will reset the loop and be ready for when I press it again to start the loop again. Could anyone give me an example code to accomplish this?

An added bonus would be if someone could help me with having the Arduino sleep until I press the button to start the timer, then when I press the button it resets the program and puts the Arduino to sleep again.

Thanks so much. This is my first time coding.

perkinsandy0:
I am writing code for a countdown timer, and I would like to have one button which when pressed will start the loop that counts down, and when I press it again it will reset the loop and be ready for when I press it again to start the loop again. Could anyone give me an example code to accomplish this?

An added bonus would be if someone could help me with having the Arduino sleep until I press the button to start the timer, then when I press the button it resets the program and puts the Arduino to sleep again.

Thanks so much. This is my first time coding.

Welcome to the Arduino forum. Hope you are ready to begin the lesson!

Decide how fast you want the count down to occur and what number you want to start with. Do you want to display something about the time remaining on the timer? What do you want to display it on? What kind of "button" do you have?

What are you using to power the project?

And finally, which Arduino are you using and have you worked with all the sample programs available for the Arduino?

Paul

So I already have all the code for the timer, I just want to be able to press the button to stop it and then press the button and have it start again.
For the button, I am wanting just a momentary push button.
Right now I am using an arduino mega powered through usb.