By a plus and a minus do I get a GND?

Hello,

I’m new in this electronic environment, I decided to buy a pre-mounted amplifier board.

It would be easy, after all it must be just connect boards to boards, I thought… But now I’m facing a problem.

In the attached file, we have on the first picture what I have from the connection document. On the second picture is what I have done.

So, since today I dont have a 0-200, 0-200 transformer, I decided to use the one I have which is 23-0-23.

So, when I power up, I started to hear a buzzzzzz, and then i saw some smoke coming out from the power board.

Now, do you think I really can connect the -29 and the +29 in order to get the “0” or GND?

thanks in advance.

Best regards
Paulo

Capture1.JPG

Nope, you get a short. You need to use a transformer that has a -200 0 200v output.

Thank you for your answer.

Yes, I thought on that, but the amplifier board need a DC power. So, I need to pass thought the power board.

Neither of the diagrams can possible be right.

The primary must match the ac supply voltage, which is likely to be either 120Vac or 230Vac.
200V is too far from 230 to be safe. 23V is utterly wrong (is that a misprint for 230V perhaps?)

If you use a transformer which is not designed for mains on the primary you risk starting a fire or
blowing fuses and possibly very high voltages on the secondary.

You must only use a mains rated transformer for powering things from the mains.

You must earth the secondary circuit at some point. Never use a 2 pin connection to the mains,
always have earth and use it.

You must check the primary winding(s) are connected correctly (some have two windings so can be
used in series for 230V and in parallel for 120V, and the phasing must be correct)

You must connect the secondaries correctly - with no power connection you can investigate the windings using
the resistance range of a multimeter. This will show how the windings are arranged, but not their relative phases.