C, C++ ... or less?

Hi, I apologize but english is not my natural language
I am a professional of C and C++ and I am going to help a friend to drive his model railroad with an Arduino. It's the first time I work with Arduino.
my basic questions are (and I need basic answers !) :
can we use C or C++ or only C
in C, can we use
structure, union I can not see those items in the reference guide
software interrupts
TIA

Bonjour, je suis un développeur C et C++ professionnel et je vais aider un ami à automatiser son réseau de chemin de fer miniature. Je me demande si le langage C utilisé par l'Arduino est 'complet'. Je n'ai pas trouvé, dans les références, la possibilité d'utiliser les STRUCTURE et la clause UNION. D'autre part peut-on utiliser les interruptions soft ?
Merci d'avance

Jean à Grenoble

The Arduino reference is a guide to the Arduino functions, not a complete guide to the C++ language that the Arduino is programmed in

Hello
Test it by yourself by writing a simple blinking sketch using the C++ instrctions needed for your project.

The Arduino '.ino' files (if there are more than one) are merged together into one '.cpp' file with #include <Arduino.h> at the top and function prototypes inserted just before the first function definition. That is then run through the C++ compiler for the selected board/processor.

The Arduino was designed for non-technical folks like artists. The automatic function prototype generation was to save the users from having to declare functions above where they are called. You can write any C++ code the compiler supports (most of C++11?).

arduino ide uses the gcc compiler

That answers everything the OP asked I think. What functions is the Arduino going to control on the model railway?

Of course, since there is no operating system and no standard display, keyboard, or file storage, there are missing functions related to hardware and the file system, etc.