C++ inheritance and/or Polymorphism Implementation and explanation

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to C++, and I am trying to clearly understand Inheritance and polymorphism, having said that, I will very much appreciatte a clear example and/or implementation of it.

I am currently working on a project in Which I have two classes, and they basically parse a packet of data from a source, however the packet changes depending on the source, therefore I have written two different classes, each for its corresponding source, these two classes use pretty much the same functions, but with some small differences, I think that there should be a nice and well structured way of doing this in one class using inheritance, I am simply not sure about how to implement it.
Thank you. :slight_smile:

class PARSER1 {

public:

PARSER1();
    void commonFunction1();  
    bool commonFunction2(char rxd);
    uint8_t commonFunction3();
    void commonFunction4(char buf[]);

}
class PARSER2 {

public:

PARSER2();
    void commonFunction2_1();  
    bool commonFunction2_2(char rxd);
    uint8_t commonFunction3_3();
    void commonFunction4_4(char buf[]);

}
/*In the main program I create an instance of the class that I need depending on the source Ideally I could do this in the Base class */

PARSER2 parser2

PARSER1 parser1

Your question is too broad and I think you don't yet know what you don't know. I recommend finding an online tutorial on the subject.

I can also recomend this Book. It's great for the first move from C to C++. But, it assumes that you know C concepts right off the bat. There's no hand holding when it comes to pointers, structs, data types, arrays, control structures, etc.

I don't see inheritance nor polymorphism in what you posted.. indeed worth reading something about the underlying concepts and then come back to your special case

// Simple demonstration of inheritance.
#include <iostream> 

class Base { // base class
public:
  int b;

void getdata() {