C programming question

Hi, I'm a beginner to C programming.
From what i've read, "void setup" is for code I want to execute just once at the beginning. And "void loop* is for main code that gets executed repeatedly.

I want to initialize a motor and leadscrew to a home position once. Then execute my main code repeatedly.
When I put the initialize code in "void setup" I get an error message to the effect that I cant do that.

The code is good because when I put it at the top my "void loop" code it works fine, but repeatedly that I dont want it to do.

So my questions are:

1. does any coding get done in "void setup"?
  2. how can I make code in "void loop" only execute once the first time through?

Thanks,
Pete

Please show your code; place it between [code] and [/code].
Please show the errors that your get; "to the effect that I cant do that" does not mean anything.

Yes, you can put plenty of code in setup().
2)
You can keep a flag (e.g. called firstRun)
Check in loop() if the flag is set or not and use appropriate action.
Change the flag afterwards

//Edit
Note: a sketch needs a setup() and a loop() function; either of them can be empty. If you omit one of them, the linker will complain.

See Arduino Sketch Structure

I'll figure out how to attach my code and error message

Please follow the advice on posting a programming question given in Read this before posting a programming question

In particular note the advice to Auto format code in the IDE and to use code tags when posting code here as it prevents some combinations of characters in code being interpreted as HTML commands such as italics, bold or a smiley character, all of which render the code useless

One general concept mentioned is to use a boolean flag that is initialized to "false". Execute all the code you need to based on that flag being false, set it true and it won't run again until the next reset. For example:

void setup( void )
{

}//setup

void loop( void )
{
    static bool