cable specs and help mounting sensors

hello,

i am fairly new to the world of arduino/electronic engineering,
so i got some questions before i start building something …

i would like to attach some sensors to a (most likely metallic) structure and then of course wire the cables to the arduino somewhere separate.

1. is there a maximum length of the signal cables? which diameter and type of cable would be the best?

2. i also wondered if there is some standard mounting system? - i.e. put a sensor on/into something which has holes for mounting … because sensors do not seem to have mounting holes in general since they are tiny

thanks in advance
didi

I think you left out the rather important piece of information telling us what sensors you want to use. It would be helpful if you could post a link the datasheet for the sensors you want. If you don’t know what sensors to use, you will need to say more about what you are trying to do.

upps, sorry for that.
i want to build a cage-like structure (out of metal or wood, but not sealed, approx. 2x2x2m). then i want to detect motion and distance of a human being.

i am not sure if IR distance sensors or sonar sensors are better - i will try. till now i found the standard sonar (LV MaxBotix Sonar EZ0, EZ1 or EZ2) or IR sensors (Sharp GP2Y0A21YK or GP2D12) which are both analog.

is there a maximum length of the signal cables?

yes but it depends on the signal. Even with this information it is imposable to say without consulting the data sheet of the actual sensor. As a very rough rule of thumb anything over 5 meters needs careful consideration.

i also wondered if there is some standard mounting system?

no you just make it up with what you have.

ok, can you elaborate on that (the signal). what should i look for in the sensor datasheets. i did not find anything useful till now.
do you have any good links about that topic (wikipedia, textbooks, …). i just need hints or keywords to look in the right direction …