cable test program help

hello guys i need advice. i am trying to make a cable tester with a arduino due to test custom cables so i need to test each wire individually and see where it pins out too. and if the pin out is wrong to print to lcd that test failed and what pins are wrong on the cable so the cable can be repaired.

but i dont know where to start. can i just blink each wire one at a time? is there a better way? how can i set what pins i need to be connected?

i'm new to programming arduino's

tyler_k:
hello guys i need advice.
i am trying to make a cable tester with a arduino due to test custom cables
so i need to test each wire individually and see where it pins out too. and if the pin out is wrong to print to lcd that test failed and what pins are wrong on the cable so the cable can be repaired.

but i dont know where to start. can i just blink each wire one at a time? is there a better way? how can i set what pins i need to be connected?

i’m new to programming arduino’s

You will need two digital pins per wire to do the test.

Simply connect one end of the cable to “outputs” and the other end to “inputs”, then sequentially turn on each output and check that:

(a) You read the proper wire on the input
(b) You DO NOT read anything on any other input

There are other ways to do this which would involve a smaller number of digital pins, but above is the simplest way… especially if your cables don’t have too many wires.

well down side is i have to make a few different tests ranging from 9 pin to 25 pin cables and im not vary well versed in programming these so i can see what the examples do and how they work but idk what functions to use for this loop statement.