Calculate time between 2 data of a sensor

Hello guys, I'm working on a project in my university and I'm having a trouble in calculate time. I have a conveyor and an IR sensor which I use to calculate the maximum and minimum distances of a box when it is moving on the conveyor. Then I want to calculate the time between the max and min distances of box. I have used millis() for timing but it is not accurate. Thank you for your time and sorry for my bad english.

I do not know about timing but did you tried using pulseIn(); ?? My suggestion can be totally wrong i am really new to Arduino

Let us see your code and state what IR sensor you are using to get the best help here.

int IRpin = 0;
float volts, distance,firstdata;
int k = 0;
float min;
float mang[150];
int m;
void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  volts = analogRead(IRpin) * 0.0048828125;
  distance = 13 * pow(volts, -1.10);
  if (distance < 20)
  {
    Serial.println(distance);
    mang[k] = distance;
    k++;
  }
  else
  {
    if (k > 0)
    {
      min = mang[0];
      for (int i = 1; i < k; i++)
      {

if (min > mang[i])
        {
          min = mang[i];
          m = i;
        }
      }
      firstdata=mang[1];
}

Here my code to show how I get the minimum distance, I store data the sensor send to me in an array. Now I want to calculate the time between firstdata [mang(1)] and [(min)]. Tks for your help. And I’m using 0A41SK Sharp IR sensor.

NewStudent: I do not know about timing but did you tried using pulseIn(); ?? My suggestion can be totally wrong i am really new to Arduino

I do not really understand your idea in using this function. Could you tell me more.

Unless you record the (relative) time of the minimum and maximum points, you are not going to be able to calculate the time between them. Millis() would be ideal. Did you declare your time variables as unsigned long in your earlier attempt ?