camera slider a2 design project

i am currently doing my second year of design technology systems and control. my project this year is to make a camera slider for this i needed to change the speed and direction of a nema 17 stepper motor without using pre made shields. my current plan is to connect the motor to uln 2003 or 2803 which will go to a uno board on pins 8-11 plus a ground along with a potentiometer on analog 0 as input for speed and a simple push button for setting the direction on digital 7 this is my first time coding with arduino and i am having a few problems understanding the language and can't find existing code that does this so need some help with the code. thank you for reading any help and recommendations are appreciated. if wrong section please notify me where it should go.

this is my first time coding with arduino and i am having a few problems understanding the language

The IDE comes packed with worked examples. Work through a few.

a nema 17 stepper motor

Incoming!

danielhudson170: for this i needed to change the speed and direction of a nema 17 stepper motor without using pre made shields. my current plan is to connect the motor to uln 2003 or 2803

This is madness.

You need a proper stepper motor driver board such as a Pololu A4988 (though that may not suit your particular motor).

Stepper motor driver boards are not shields. They are the only "professional" way to control a stepper motor.

A useful part of your project report could be an explanation of why a ULN2003 etc is NOT a good choice for controlling a stepper motor.

...R

Because it is for course work I have to design and make any PCBs I use so I can't use the driver you suggest as it comes tomorrow I will be posting the code I have written and the circuit I have designed so far also that driver is for bi polar not uni polar