Cameras...not exactly as advertised?

Right.

I am a bit of a photographer (I get paid for it apparently).

A question has always bugged me.

A Canon 5DIII takes 14 bit per channel images (so I assume RGB with 2^14 resolution in each channel).

The camera is 22.3MegaPixels...it produces roughly 4000x6000px images.

So my working was:

Size of RAW file (they format the camera exports) = 14bits * 3 channels (RGB) * 22.3E6 (MP)

Should be around 120MB per file...

But they are not. They are like 25MB per RAW file as shown on the camera (and in the Manufacturer Specs). This equates more to around 1 byte (8bits) per pixel. What is going on? Is the manufacturer taking 14 bit images on the sensor and then squidging them down to 8bit colour when saving each pixel on the CF card?

Seems a bit of a cop-out to be honest.

How is this an Arduino question?

There are several methods for loss-less data compression.

...R

Robin2:
How is this an Arduino question?

There are several methods for loss-less data compression.

...R

Am I mistaken:

General Discussion - 
Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.

Johnny010:
Am I mistaken:

IMHO Yes. I believe it means "General Discussion about Arduino stuff"

Use Bar Sport for things that have nothing to do with an Arduino.

However your particular question looks like it would benefit from the expertise on a Camera forum.

...R

I see.

I avoided camera forums because to be honest, although the technical photography ranges from bad to pretty good, their actual knowledge of how a camera works (especially digital level / the computing bit) they are terrible to non-existent.

Felt a place with more like minded techies would have been a better shout.

Johnny010:
their actual knowledge of how a camera works (especially digital level / the computing bit) they are terrible to non-existent.

Interesting.

Did my comment about data compression help?

I'm afraid I'm a lazy phillistine and never use RAW on my camera.

...R