Camp Generator Automatic on and off

Hello,

My goal is to have a simple generator at camp. One that starts automatically when you turn on a light switch and automatically shut off when you turn off the switch. There is no utility power at camp, so this is not a switching from one power source to another issue. We used to have a generator that did just as I described back in the 70's, but no one liked it as it was very loud, but we loved the convenience of it. We have a Honda generator now that is nice and quiet, but is a manual start and my wife can no longer start it when I'm not not there. I can add a starter to it, but she will still have to go out and start it, and she has some mobility issues. Hence the reason for me wanting all of this to be automatic.
I'm completely new to Arduino, so please bare with me. I know this can be done with Arduino as is probably very simple coding, but being completely new to this I have no idea where to even start?
Kind regards,
Nathan

Are you thinking that if you turn on a light (one of many?), the generator must start or is there a dedicated switch that tells the generator to start up?

Yes, that's exactly what the old generator did.

Which - dedicated switch for the generator or any call for power turns it on?

I believe that turning on the light completed the circuit, that's about all I remember about it. So call for power.

I was afraid of that, though obviously that's the most convenient. I could probably McGyver some way of doing it in an extremely unsafe way, but I suspect it's a fairly simple circuit that is well known. Hopefully some of the other forum members have some input for you.

Sadly, it's proving impossible to google - everything I get is about automatic generators that come on at your house when there's a power cut.

This has NOTHING to do with "code", yet.