Can 12v 100mA solar panel run the Arduino and one question about Li-Ion battery

Hi All,

I am new to Arduino and have recently started on my first serious project :slight_smile: I am making an automatic plant watering system which will water the plants at a fixed time every day say 10 am and then put the Arduino in sleep mode for 24 hours. I have a Freeduino with Atmega168 and have purchased a 6V DC water pump as well. Now since this is going to be a portable project i.e. no access to wall wart or USB power I'm working on the power supply part. I'm considering two approaches and have questions in both.

Approach 1- Solar power

I purchased two 6V DC 100 mAmps each solar panels and connected them in serial to get 12 V DC 100mAmps. However my Freeduino does not run on this power supply. When I contacted the manufacturer of my Freeduino they said that the power regulator on any Arduino/Freeduino requires at least 7V and at least 300mAmps current. Is this correct information? If yes will adding a 6V 100mAmp + a new 3V 200 mAmps solar panel be able to power my Freeduino?

Approach 2- Lithium-Ion battery
In this approach I have got info of a 7.4 V DC 700mAmp Lithium battery on this site. http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=346. The description says this battery has an inbuilt charging and overprotection circuit and that it can be used while it is being charged. Can someone help me with a circuit diagram of how this can be done? Since from the product image at least I see only one pair of connections, so how can it be charged and used at the same time?

Hoping to get some advice from experienced folks and get started with the project.

Arduino/Freeduino requires at least 7V and at least 300mAmps current

No, that is not correct.
7V on the Vin is the most desirable, but it can be less and still run.
40 - 50 Ma is all the arduino requires.
If you are driving other loads of course they will require more.