Can an arduino/Raspberry Pi do this?

Noob here, please be gentle.

I am attempting to find a solution to replace 2 very thick cables for wires, 27 wires in total, due to space constraints for my lightbar install (volunteer fireman). These are simply 12v+ trigger wires that control the different functions of the lightbar. Each wire needs less than 1 amp 12v+. The lightbar will have plenty of 12v power available inside it.

I am wondering if I can rig a simple (relatively) system of 1or 2 arduinos to pass the 12v signals from inside the cab of my truck to the lightbar, and activate a relay bank inside the lightbar itself using a much smaller USB or cat5 size wire for communication.

I’ve read a little about I2C, and have differing reports on the distance it can go, some say 1 meter, others much more.

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I have run 5 I2C LCD displays at 10 feet, without pullup resistors

controlling the relays: bitwise operations & port manipulation.

investigate solid state relays, the modern replacement for mechanical relays

search the project hub for relay control

[quote author=Geek Emeritus link=msg=4413594 date=1576972921]
I have run 5 I2C LCD displays at 10 feet, without pullup resistors[/quote]

I2C, by definition, requires pull-up resistors.

You can not have a 12V trigger connected directly to an Arduino pin. You need to have a transistor and 12V supply on each line.

A Pi or Arduino are both capable of this but remember that a Pi will take about 30 seconds to boot up and start working and unlike an Arduino you can’t just cut the power when you want to stop it. You have to run a shut down program and then wait until it is finished before removing the power.

FFRNDAN: