Can An Object Delete Itself?

Would that work? No doubt a strange thing to want to do, but I have an application where it would be quite handy - once the object has done its job, it needs to be deleted, but I don’t want to hang onto a reference to it while it works. So, can you do: delete this; in a member function, then return, to free up the memory? Seems to me it should work…

Regards,
Ray L.

You mean “destructor”?

I'm not an OOP programmer, so the below might be considered a workaround,

Declare the object in a function, call the function. When you leave the function, the object is destroyed. But I guess that you have considered that and it does not suite you.

Second option: using a statemachine approach, instantiate the object in the first state, destroy the object in the final state.

I don't want to hang onto a reference to it while it works.

On one hand, to call this method you must have a "reference" (i.e., instance). That instance is still "in scope" after the method returns, unless you are doing something like this:

Instance_t *instancePtr = fromSomePlace();
     instancePtr -> methodThatDeletesThis();
      //  instancePtr points to deleted memory now (dangling)
  } // instancePtr goes out of scope here

OTOH, there's nothing sacred about this:

void Instance_t::methodThatDeletesThis()
{
  this->doSomething();
  delete this;
}

IMPORTANT OBSERVATION: if you can delete this immediately, why not do the obvious (and RECOMMENDED) delete in the caller?

Instance_t *instancePtr = fromSomePlace();
     instancePtr -> method();
     delete instancePtr;
      //  instancePtr points to deleted memory (dangling)
  } // instancePtr goes out of scope here

Deleting this is asking for trouble, though. What if you call it like this:

Instance_t instance( args );
    instance.doSomeThings();
    instance.methodThatDeletesThis();

Bad.

It's just not good practice -- that's why you've never seen this.