can anyone help me solve code not working

Hello. I am a noob at this stuff so bear with my bad code. I am making a simple project where four buttons control the placement of a custom character on an LCD screen. However, even when I don’t push the buttons, the character moves on the screen in ways I don’t want it too. The buttons don’t even work when I press them. Any ideas why?

#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>
LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd = LiquidCrystal_I2C(0x27, 20, 4);
int x = 0;
int y = 0;
int up = 2;
int right = 3;
int down = 4;
int left = 5;
byte Man[] = {
  B00100,
  B01010,
  B00100,
  B01110,
  B10101,
  B00100,
  B01010,
  B10001
};

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(up, INPUT);
pinMode(left, INPUT);
pinMode(down, INPUT);
pinMode(right, INPUT);
pinMode(12, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(12,HIGH);
  lcd.init();
lcd.backlight();
lcd.createChar(1, Man);
  lcd.setCursor(x,y);
lcd.write(1);
}
void loop() {

lcd.setCursor(x,y);
lcd.write(1);
if(digitalRead(down) == 1 and y < 3){
y--;

}

if(digitalRead(up) == 1 and y > 0 ){
y++;

}

if(digitalRead(left) == 1 and x > 0){
x--;

}

if(digitalRead(right) == 1 and x < 19){
x++;

}
delay(1000);
Serial.println( x );
Serial.println( y );

}

Please help me fix this, its very frustrating.

The buttons don't even work when I press them.

Without looking at the logic of the sketch yet, I see your button pins are pinMode()-ed as input, and that you look for a 1 as a press. That means they should have pull down resistors to guarantee they are actually low until the button takes the pin high.

Tell us how the buttons are wired, and especially, do you have pull down resistors?

And PS, when you realise something like "the buttons don't even work when I press them" it's time to run a separate sketch that does nothing other than test a button, like this tutorial.

Without a schematic we would only be guessing.
Post your schematic in CAD or a picture of a hand drawn circuit in jpg or png- (PLEASE, not a pretty Fritzing drawing).