Can code be a substitute for a resistor? (noob alert!)

I'm brand new to arduino, coding, and electronics in general. I'm reading Arduino for Dummies, and trying to understand each step fully before reading the next.

I understand that an LED needs low voltage, and that resistors are used to accomplish this. But if I understand correctly, you can send lower voltage from a pin by lowering the analogWrite value. If a value of 255 sends full power to the LED, wouldn't a value of 100 provide the correct voltage without a resistor?

Sure, I could just use a resistor, but I want to be able to do as much as possible with code. Plus, if code can substitute for a resistor, then I have an unlimited supply of resistors to choose from, and they don't need soldering! :)

If a value of 255 sends full power to the LED, wouldn't a value of 100 provide the correct voltage without a resistor?

No. The purpose of the resistor is to limit the amount of current that the LED tries to draw, not to lower the voltage to the LED.

But if I understand correctly, you can send lower voltage from a pin by lowering the analogWrite value

You didn't understand correctly. Unless you're on a Due with a proper DAC, an analogWrite simply varies the ratio of on time to off time of a full amplitude square wave.