Can I connect 4 arduinos by serial?

Greetings everybody!

I’m new in Arduino, but I’m trying to do a hard proyect (because easy proyects bores me) and I think to do a MIDI Controller for Ableton Live. I want to “clone” the famous Novation Launchpad.

So, I need a lot of memory for some layers that I will change with 4 buttons (session, user1, effects and mixer) and I need too a lot of Input.

I’m thinking so to do a small Launchpad, like the original design, so I think to use four Arduino Pro Mini interconnected, but, I don’t know if this is possible, I make a fast design with Paint (I Attach it)

My idea is make 4 independent boards with an arduino each one for process the data and after that put it together.

Some help?

Thanks you!

PD: Sorry for my bad english

Topics with "HELP" in the title are viewed with particular disfavour by many contributors here, as that implies a substantial misunderstanding of the purpose of the forum.

Bad English on the other hand, is usually accepted with little or no comment unless the poster claims to be proficient in English. :smiley:

Oh, sorry! In Spanish forums is very normal put [HELP] in subject. now, I'll edit the subject haha, thanks you!

In your diagram you probably need to add a small diode on the pro mini tx pin with the band side of the diode connected to the pro mini tx pin.

You won’t do anything good with that hookup. You have 5 Tx’s talking, and all onto the same line. A Tx must be wired to an Rx.
You also have 5 Rx’s listening to each other. In effect, all the talkers are talking to nothing that can hear them, and all the listeners are listening to nothing that can talk to them.

You can, conceivably, wire one Tx to all the other Rx’s, but you can’t have multiple Tx’s talking to one Rx (or to all other Rx’s). The only way to do something like that is to use something like RS485, which is designed for multi-drop communication.