Can I directly feed my DC motor with Arduino 5V pin?

Hi guys,

I am new to Arduino.
I have started my small projects and trying to learn more in the COVID time.
I did buy 10 small DC motor which I guess suffice the purpose: https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B07FM8J9WP.

At first, I wanted to simply connect it to my 11.1V battery through the Mosfet module(https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B07VRCXGFY) and control the V-in to DC motor by the PWM pin(P9), but I realized even with the analogWrite(9, 5) still my output voltage is around 5V(again used Mosfet module).
Does the MOSFET module have a problem? It is weird, right?

Then I thought perhaps I can feed it with the 5V pin of Arduino, which I have tried but saw smoke coming out of it. Later checked the Arduino and I guess the Mosfet behind the Arduino looks like it burned.

Also, I was thinking to use the 5V output of the L298N for these DC motors. Is it a good idea?

Some information:

• Battery: 11.1V 1500mh
  • Arduino Nano
  • The project: trying to build a robot vacuum cleaner. The chassis is built manually with Plexy, Wood, Plastic and etc.
  • For the robot wheel, I am also using 2 gear motor with wheel, and L298N H bridge. It was simple to use.

BTW,

You should not draw power for any motor from the Arduino 5v pin. It is not designed to produce sufficient current and it has protection against the voltage spikes that a motor creates.

I don’t understand what you mean by this

but I realized even with the analogWrite(9, 5) still my output voltage is around 5V(again used Mosfet module).

Please post the program you have tried and also post a diagram showing how you have everything connected. A photo of a simple pencil drawing is best. See this Simple Image Posting Guide

See also How to use the forum

…R