Can I do this with an arduino?(control LEDs with sms/forwarding SMS messages

Hello!

First of all I am very new to all of this arduino stuff, never used it b4 but it fascinates me.

A potential project for me is the following

I would want to control a set of LEDs (or any lights) by SMS.

A light would have to be connected to a certain phone number.

When this phone number sends an SMS (blank preferably) the LED for that number would light up.

This would have to work with around 30 different numbers/LEDs.

The second function would be that when the arduino receives an sms, it would forward that sms to every single of the aforementioned phone numbers.

Does this sound doable with very little previous programming experience?

I am quite "techy" in general and love tinkering around with stuff.

Someone might have guessed what this project is for, its for our volunteer firefigther station.

We are alarmed by phone calls and a good way to know who is coming would be the LED lighting up if the member has acknowledged the alarm by sending a sms to the station.

The other function (the forwarding of sms) would be used for the following:

When the station receives an alarm we can have an sms sent to a number with the details of the alarm written in it. This sms message we would like to forward to every member so they can read the details. This function is secondary though.

Main thing would be to know who is coming so we know to wait for that person.

thanks in advance, Anton 23yo from Finland

I have only played with SMS/GPRS module slightly..

but to touch on some topics (so we're all talking apples here) :)

You can think of your SMS device as a cell phone... in the respect that is will needs its own SIM card..

• (how you get that, and what plan you end up going with I can not suggest anything, as I have only taken my personal SIM card out of my phone and used for some quick text tests, I do NOT have a dedicated SIM card for this, I'm located in the US)