Can I do this with two Arduino Board?

Hello,

Newbie here. I have lots of experience with computers and RC equipment. Now I am trying to use the best of both worlds. I am interested in the feasibility of the following:

I would like to create an underwater remotely operated vehicle (ROV). I cannot use standard RC equipment because the signal does not travel through the water very well (~30 feet max). So the first requirement is being able to talk between two boards over a tether of some kind (any suggestions?). I have read, but want to confirm that this can talk over a serial line (only two wires?). How much distance can I expect from the serial line (50', 100', 1000'...)? Can this be done with two standard boards without buying additional components?

Some newbie questions that I think I know the answer to, but want to be certain: 1.) The board, once programmed, does not need to be plugged into the computer right? 2.) Does it store the code in the event of a power loss/disconnect?

I plan to start small, but in the end I need to program up a joystick and other controls on the user end. I have a really nice old joystick that is perfect for an ROV, but uses an outdated 15 pin serial connector, so the first thing I plan on doing is rewiring it to the Arduino. In parallel I would be wiring/programming the ROV to its own board. Final step would be to get the Joystick board to control the ROV end without the computer in between.

So if you have stayed with me thus far, does anything should like it cannot be done with just two boards? Is there something that should need to be added? Any comments or general suggestions would be appreciated. I would hate to hit a major roadblock because of a limitation in the board that I was not aware of. Thanks and I'm sure I'll have more questions.