Can I meassure somehow the frequency of a sound wave

Hey,

I'm new to Arduino and want to learn it based on projects. I thought about making a frequency meter. Well frequency is declared as number of waves per second.

So how do I get the number of waves. .

I thought I could use somehow the red sound sensor in the elegoo kit to get sound waves when speaking for example. Well I am kinda stuck. I also read something about FFT. I read a lot online and I am really confused, because some people tell you you can't do things like that with the sound sensor, but don't say how to do it otherwise and other people say it works if you know how to convert voltage, which you get from the sound module into frequency.

Can someone give me some advice which components to use, so I could read into it?

Have a wonderful sunny day and stay healthy :slight_smile:

Sorry for my bad English

Perhaps an internet search on the words 'arduino frequency counter library' might get you to see the code of how others have done such things?

Idahowalker:
Perhaps an internet search on the words 'arduino frequency counter library' might get you to see the code of how others have done such things?

But I don't want to use a library.

I thought if I could somehow get the number of waves in a specific time I could easily calculate the frequency.

I wanted to use a library if nothing else work...

Its a lot harder than you seem to think. There are issues of harmonics, noise, variations over time. If you have only a pure note at constant amplitude its a lot easier to determine a frequency and even zero-crossing counting
will work fairly well.

In particular speech is made almost entirely of harmonics and noise, has a constantly varying frequency and
requires more advanced techniques to pull out the formant data than just FFT analysis