Can I Power 4x LEDs and 4x Phototransitors off Sparkfun's Arduino Pro Mini 528?

Hi all,

Beginner here. I’d really appreciate some advice. Can you tell me whether the setup I propose will exceed the amperage limits of the Arduino Pro Mini 528? I have the 5 volt version. https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11113

I’m doing a project involving an optical slot sensor that contains an IR LED and an IR phototransistor. When an object is put in between the slot, the phototransistor outputs a voltage that corresponds with the amount of light transmitted across the slot distance.

The sensor in question is the Omron EE-SX1140. Relevant links directly below

Manufacturer datasheet: http://www.omron.com/ecb/products/pdf/en-ee_sx1140.pdf
Digikey page: http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/omron-electronics-inc-emc-div/EE-SX1140/OR1034-ND/1789461

I want to hook up 4 of these sensors to my Arduino Pro Mini 528. This essentially means that I am hooking up the following to the Pro Mini board:

-4 LED’s running off the VCC pin (I am using a 191 Ohm resistor in front of these. They draw 20 mA with this configuration) I am sinking these into ground

-4 phototransistors running off their own digital output pins (2, 3, 10 and 11). I am branching the emitter prongs on the transistors with a 68K Ohm resistor to ground, and sending the analog voltage to individual analog input pins (A0 through A3)

Please let me know if I am in danger of frying my board and how I can improve

I made a quick mockup below. I tried to make it as clear as possible

http://i.cubeupload.com/y2DVwd.png

Your math for current draw of the leds with 191 ohm resistor in series is wrong as far as I can tell - I'd expect 20mA per LED (0.02 A), give or take a few mA from that spec sheet.

So you're looking at 80mA.

If you're powering it off regulated 5v (ex, from FTDI adapter - you can get 500mA out of USB typically, or regulated 5v supply connected to Vcc) , you're golden.