Can I read the battery level of a coin cell battery on the 3.3v in?

Hi there,

I have been looking to see if it is possible to read the battery level of a coin cell battery attached to the 3.3v pin. All I can find are guides to reading from the AO pin and I am wondering if this would even be possible or not using something like analogRead(3.3vpin) But I can see from reading the analogRead() documentation that I can only read from the A0 to A7 pins.

Is it hopeless for me to read the battery level of a coin cell on a 3.3v pin?

What prevents you from connecting a voltage divider to A0 and power it by your battery?

Regarding the measurement you need to make sure you have a voltage reference that is independent from Vcc changes. Many ADC have a bandgap reference available to counter that problem. You just need to figure out how it is setup.

I'm afraid I'm relatively new to Arduino and the hardware world so I am not fully following what you are saying here. I have only taken baby steps really into this field as of yet.

Steen_Petersen:
I'm afraid I'm relatively new to Arduino and the hardware world so I am not fully following what you are saying here. I have only taken baby steps really into this field as of yet.

No problem, maybe I can help you with a few baby steps. :slight_smile:

You need to get the voltage from your battery to a pin that has a analog-to-digital converter (ADC). e.g AN0

If the voltage is within the range of the ADC you can simply connect it with a wire. If the voltage is higher than what the ADC can measure you need to divide the voltage. That is done via a voltage divider e.g. two resistors in series between the voltage and ground.

As you can see on the wiki page the ratio of the two resistors depends on the ratio of the maximum input voltage (your battery) and the maximum output voltage (the ADC maximum input voltage).