can I replace a 3-way switch with an input?

my apologies first, this is my first time writing on a forum

I'll try to make this long story short...
Greenhouse run by arduino mega...

Water valves are controlled by arduino via various soil moisture sensors...
I have built a very complicated "Switch Box" with 3-way switches to provide manual over-ride for all valves ("ON"-"OFF"-"Arduino Control"), for use during maintenance.

Recently I discovered using IR remote controls to manage relays.

My question, "Can I use IR inputs to provide same function as my 3-way switches?"

3 way switches are not unusual when you also want manual control over an appliance. Like for instance, a light with a PIR sensor which sometimes you want always on, or sometimes always off even if most of the time you want it to come on automatically. Or the water valves that you have described.
If you fully trust the Arduino to control these valves, you could have the switch controlling the Arduino (automatic / manual on / manual off) instead of directly controlling the valves.

I expect others will let you know all about IR control, its sounds quiet reasonable to do it that way.

However, you clearly have some coding experience so why not do it in a more modern way than IR and use your mobile to control things ?

It would allow you to get condition reports and send control replies when out of range of IR , even further by SMS

There are free App creators, eg AppInventor etc, that is quiet easy to do simple on /off control, and a lot more.
Plenty of web and Ytube tutorials around

6v6gt
The valves are currently controlling my relays, not the valves directly...

up - ON
center - OFF
down - Arduino Control

ricky
my coding experience is very limited, my program is pieces and parts of many programs all conglomerated into one abyss of a mess....(I am actually a little ashamed of it's disarray)

not using IR for sensors, I want IR to "interrupt" the program with inputs from IR