Can I run 384 LEDs with an Arduino? make them chase each-other?

Heyas,

I am trying to run a mod project on my new PC and I am a total nOOb on arduino and electronics.

I have 24 fans, each fan has 16 LED, 4 on each side. Currently the LED's are run in series of 4, but they are always on. Now I was wondering if I could make them lit one-by-one, creating a moving LED ring around the FAN.
The LEDs are all 5mm, 2.1 V at 20 mA (L-7113CGCK).

So for this project I need to run 16 outs with 24 LEDs on each out and the outs need to cycle ON one after the other. I want to use the control software to manage the cycles.
As a side question, I noticed some Arduino's have PWM support on some outs, would that could also allow me to dim the LEDs then, that would be a nice bonus?

I started looking for a control board / chips etc... and came across the Arduino stuff and perhaps it can help me get this done :slight_smile:

So what do I need to run this? Which board would you recommend I use?
How do I managed the power? Can the board take the Amps?
Do I still need resistors on the out circuits, or can the Arduino manage the voltage?
Can I dim the LEDs and control that from the software?

Any other advice?

Thanks for your imput

At 20mA each the LEDs could be driven directly from an Arduino I/O pin. You would definitely need a current-limiting resistor in series with each LED. A standard Arduino UNO is always a good starting point for learning Arduino development. This has fourteen digital I/O pins and six analog input pins which can be used as digital I/O pins, so you have enough pins available to control sixteen LEDs individually. The 'chase' logic you describe would be relatively simple to code.

Only six of the digital I/O pins on a UNO support hardware PWM but that isn't a problem - the Arduino is easily fast enough to perform PWM in software so it would be possible to control the brightness of each LED independently, if you wanted.