Can I safely connect a digital output pin to the external interrupt pin on the same board?

Hi everyone! I'm using Arduino Uno and I'm new to electronic hardwares.

What I am trying to do is to:

1. generate a low frequency square wave (pulses) from a digital output pin
  2. connect the output pin to the external interrupt pin and count the number of pulses
  3. Switch on a LED every 10 pulses detected

The reason I do this is because right now I don't have a frequency generator at hands and still want to check if the LED light-up based on number of pulses detected works. Later on I will use a real source of pulses to connect to Arduino, instead of using the Arduino itself like in Step 1 described above.

I know that connect an output pin to an input pin on the same Arduino should be fine. But I am not sure when I configure a pin as external interrupt would be safe as well. Is external interrupt pin equal to an input pin? Is there a risk to damage my board?

Here are my codes:

/*
  -generate pulses in pin 10 (output)
  -count the pulses through external interrupt pin 2 (?input?);
  -light the led in pin 13 every ten pulses (output);
*/

int pulseGnPin = 10;
int pulseDetPin = 2;
int ledPin = 13;

long count = 0;  //number of pulses

int period = 50;  //half period of generated pulses
long lastTime = 0;  
bool pulseGnState = false;  //used for generating pulses without delay()

void setup() {
  pinMode(pulseGnPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  attachInterrupt(pulseDetPin, pulseCount, RISING);
  lastTime = millis();
}

void loop() {
  pulseGn();
  if (count%10==0) {
    digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
    delay(10);
    count = 0; //clear pulse count number before it gets too large.
  }
}

void pulseGn() {
  if (millis() - lastTime > period) {
    lastTime = millis();
    pulseGnState = !pulseGnState;
    digitalWrite(pulseGnPin, pulseGnState);
  }
}

void pulseCount() {
  count++;
}

Thanks in advance!