Can I save power like this?

So, I am a beginner with arduino. I am working on a little project, I have my Arduino, few sensors, few AD convertors, a display and an SD card datalogger. I need this thing to be battery powered and to log data only like every 5-10 minutes. And it needs to last on a battery for at least 24 hours. I was thinking about powering all the other boards through a MOSFET, that would turn them on only for a short time every 5-10 minutes, just to log the data and then turn them off again. Will this work? Or is there a better way to do something like this?

Use a bigger battery?

Yeah, but I figured that my whole circuit is drawing like 100 mA, while the Arduino itself takes only 20 mA, so if I could increase my battery life 4-5 times, that would be great.

arduino sleep library.

http://playground.arduino.cc/Learning/ArduinoSleepCode

But that will only put the Arduino in sleep, is that correct? But what about the other modules? They draw most of the power.

Oh I see.

Well, what modules? Some have quiescent currents of nano amps...some may use mAs.

A more detailed outline of your system may help.

What's using all the power?

Though an Arduino board typically uses about 50mA - they're not designed for low power - they've got two chips instead of one (and you can't sleep the 16u2), and a power light, and a crap regulator.

So I am using a pro micro, MPX10dp pressure sensor paired with HX711 AD converter, micro SD card reader with real time module (labled as deek-robot) and a 2 line display with l2c driver.

I use my arduino's mainly for animatronics.
I often use a traco DC/DC power convertor. It saves me a lot of battery power. Also the batteries I use are 7.2 volts so all my external boards are fed from the traco, NOT from the arduino. This way I can put the boards to sleep when I do not need them by turning them of with a mosfet.