can I use a Freeduino V1.22 with an MPU9250/6500 position sensor to turn on LEDs

I am new to Arduino and looking to use an Arduino to process a position sensor input for tilt (roll on one axis) and then actuate some 12v (10W) LED's proportional to roll (turn on one led for roll >5 deg and two LEDs for roll > 10 deg).

My friend gave me an assembled Freeduino V1.22 and I would like to use it with a HiLetgo MPU9250/6500 9-Axis 9 DOF 16 Bit Gyroscope Acceleration Magnetic Sensor 9-Axis Attitude +Gyro+Accelerator+Magnetometer Sensor Module IIC/SPI for Arduino GY-9250 from Amazon. Of course I would need the sketch (program) and then a driver circuit. I'll try not to ask too many questions here before reading and working but is this a good start for hardware?

1. Is my Freeduino V.1.22 a good baseline to work with (or good enough to prototype with) and will it work with this MPU9250/6500 nine DOF sensor I've selected?
  2. should I buy some application specific jumpers (name/type?) or do all these things snap together with soldered in pins.
  3. is there a common module that will "snap on" or cable up to my Freeduino with the 9250 Sensor and drive my LED (1 amp at 12V per LED and a total of 4 LEDs and maximum two on at a time.).
  4. Is there a readily available environmentally sealed enclosure which I should design to?
  1. Is my Freeduino V.1.22 a good baseline to work with (or good enough to prototype with) and will it work with this MPU9250/6500 nine DOF sensor I've selected?

The 9250 should work fine with that board the same as an Uno.

1. should I buy some application specific jumpers (name/type?) or do all these things snap together with soldered in pins.

No, they do not snap together. I would use a solderless breadboard and DuPont jumpers for the first prototype. There are prototyping shields available. There are shields with strip board type prototyping area that is to be soldered. A small solderless breadboard can be mounted on them, too.