Can I use Arduino for Automatic Electric Meter Billing??

Hello Arduino Community,

Im trying to make a project to monitor the weekly consumption in electricity.

The main purpose of the project is to update the user of their Electric Bill every week. This is SMS base also, where in you will be updated via SMS and also you can ask information of your bills via SMS and the device will send you another information (how much you have consumed) in a certain period of time. We would like to store also the information in a SD card. We will use a SD/MMC Card Shield in storing the data.

Im trying to program this but i don't know how to start. Im not so familiar with the commands but step by step im studying them. I just need to know how to start my project.

Thanks in advance.

I guess you could do it if it is installed downstream of the existing meter rather than replacing it, and you are using it to merely advise your victims of how much they will need to pay somebody else. Anything else will likely lead to some entertaining litigation.

I believe there are current meters made for Arduino, and typical kWh meters have an isolated pulse output which Arduino could count.

That's a pretty big project. If you don't know anything about Arduino then it's probably a bit over your head. You should probably start with some simpler stuff until you get used to the language and commands. It's a bit like saying you want to learn to swim by trying to swim across the English Channel.

Or, if getting this done is more important than learning how to do it you could always post in the gigs and collaborations section and offer to pay someone to write it for you.

At the very least we would need some details on the meter in question to try to help you. Will it give up the data or do you have to try to hack it?

Thanks :smiley: for the advice. How about if try to push this project, how can i get started with the program??

You start with a pulse counter.