Can I use Arduino instead of PCB?

Complete newbie here looking for advice. My company wants to instrument (IoT) some equipment in an industrial environment using a break-beam sensor and a dry contact sensor. The data would be collected and delivered to a JSON/REST endpoint

We contacted some local electronic engineering firms and they want to engineer a PCB. Is there really any advantage to what they would engineer that can't be done with Arduino and off the shelf sensors? We are looking at a few hundred a year at most so no mass production.

If this is a good fit for Arduino, how would you go about finding a company that can help put together a solution based on the Arduino platform?

It's all down to the finances - upfront cost and delay of PCB design and manufacturing costs vs bought-in working units.

plus risk - what if your pcb needs redsign through errors?

do the sums

at those quantites I'd probably go for premade solutions, and if the product is very succesful, consider cost-cutting later.

regards

Allan

No, this is not a good fit for Arduino.

Arduino boards are not intended for use in industrial environments and the interconnections are not rugged. The software and documentation is largely produced by amateurs, and is not particularly reliable.

It would be much, much faster and easier to have a few hundred boards manufactured and populated, than to assemble the same quantity by hand (using off the shelf parts), and the result would be much more reliable.

I don't think an Arduino Uno or Mega would be suitable for a production line. They are really just for prototyping because the connections to them would probably work loose and cause problems. However you can get Arduino boards with solder connections that should be perfectly reliable.