Can it be done?

Hi newbie here with a question. I have a wood boiler at home that I’d like to install controls on. It has a combustion fan on it and I’d like to install a Johnson Controls s66 speed control. 1)Is the Ardunio capable of a 0-10v output, so the johnson can ramp the combustion fan up and down based on stack temp. 2) Can the Ardunio accept a type K thermocouple?

I’d like to have the fan speed up as the stack temp starts to drop and slow down as the stack temp rises.

I’d also like to shut the fan down when the stack drops below 190-200.

Plus it would be nice to monitor temps in/out of boiler, storage tank temps.

Would this even be possible? Thanks for any help. Brian

The Arduino is only capable of TTL level output voltages (+5V max), but with some level conversion circuitry, it can be done.

It can accept a type K thermocouple, but you’ll need some sort of driver circuit, probably based around an operational amplifier. Type K thermocouples (at least according to wikipedia) develop a potential difference of about 41uV/degree Celsius. This means at 200C, the voltage across it would be ~8mV. The ADC of most Arduino boards either uses +5V or +1.1V references. Directly connecting the thermocouple is impossible as your resolution would be worthless. I’m sure some nice fellows will point you to some other posts/documents to help.

Directly connecting the thermocouple would have the following results for example (assuming the BEST case you are using a 1.1V reference):

Temperature = 200C
Voltage across the thermocouple = 8mV = 41(uV/C) * 200C
0.008V/1.1V = 0.0073
0.0073 * 1023 (the number of steps the ATMEGA’s 10-bit ADC is capable of) ~= 7.5, it would probably hover between 7 and 8.

If the temperature was instead 300C…
Voltage = 12mV
0.012V/1.1V = 0.011
0.011 * 1023 ~= 11

So with the ADC capable of 1023 different values, a spread of 100C would only change the output of the ADC from 7 to 11, which is absolutely awful resolution.