Can Someone help me with these errors

Hello, I am new to the Arduino. I have a sketch that I am trying to load on my Arduino for a fan controller on my vehicle. This is not my work on this sketch so I’m just coping what I was told to do to get this to work. I clicked on verify and compile and get an error message of this:
exit status 1
a function-definition is not allowed here before ‘{’ token.
I have no idea what to do from here, can someone advise or check this sketch?
Thanks
Keith

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:

}

void loop() {
  // This a test program, no warranties are implied or given. fanControllerR2V3base
  // Use, copy any modify this test program any way you want, at your own risk.
  // Test, test, test and then test some more..
  // It reads a temperature sensor and controls a Mazda PWM fan power module.
  // ...Carl...

/*----------------------- User adjustable variables and preferences section ---------------------------------*/
  float tempForFanStartup = 175.0; // target low temp. below this temperature, the fan will be off
  float tempForFanOnFull = 210.0; // target High temp. above this temperature, the fan will be on at full power
  // adjust these two to get the desired range. for example for a transmission, maybe 140 to 160

float R0 = 10000; // The base resistance of the NTC sensor used. 10K with a 3435 Beta.
  float Beta = 3435; // The Beta of the sensor used. Very commonly available

float voltsForFanStartup = 1.2; // Roughly the signal voltage that triggers the mazda module's slowest speed.
  // A higher voltage here will effectively increase the fans lowest speed target.
  /*----------------------- end of User adjustable variables and preferences -----------------------------------*/

const int fanPwmOutPin = 6; // Arduino forces this pin to 0 or 5 volts.
  const int tempSensorPin = A0; // Pin to read analog voltage from the temp sensor.
  int pwmDuty; // The calculated PWM duty is stored here