can someone please explain this matter to me ?

look at this : Linux on an 8-bit micro? - Dmitry.GR

so this guy was able to run some form of linux on an 8bit AVR , interesting the SD card and RAM parts are clear though there is just one thing that i am unable to understand . the ARM emulator part ??

what is an "ARM emulator code" ?? how is that even supposed to work ??
or does it just read the ASM commands of that ARM chip then interpret them ???

It takes about 2 hours to boot to bash prompt

Need we go any further :slight_smile:

...R

Robin2:
Need we go any further :slight_smile:

...R

i know that's the greatest thing about it .

2 hours or not, it's an accomplishment!
It's kind of like NetBSD that you could (virtually) run on a toaster.
I like people who do stuff like this, there is no real use but it shows knowledge, dedication and patience.
Thanks for sharing :slight_smile:

About the emulator: I am no expert, but I assume it indeed translates the ARM machine commands and translates these to AVR machine commands. It 'emulates' being an ARM CPU.
As you can read in his story, the AVR runs at 24MhZ but effective clockspeed is 6.5KhZ, so 1 clockcycle of the ARM emulater involves a huge amount of AVR clockticks.
No matter how long it takes, he got it to work and that is a major achievement. Many kudos!

thank you very much Benji . yeah , i really like these things to ..

amine2:
i know that's the greatest thing about it .

Jeez, then what is the worst thing about it?

...R

If you want a better understanding - at a high level, of course - of how computers really work - purchase and read the book "The Pattern on the Stone: The Simple Ideas that Make Computers Work" by W. Daniel Hillis (1998, Basic Books, ISBN 0-465-02595-1).

thank you Cr0sh :slight_smile: i will check it .

amine2:
thank you very much Benji . yeah , i really like these things to …

You really like these things to what?

Solve the Reimann Hypothesis?
Amuse kittens?