Can someone show me the input command for arduino?

ok so basically what i want to do is ask a question in the program. for example i want to say “enter a number”, so then you would enter a number into the program and hit enter. how do i do that ? what is the input command for arduino???

im basically asking in c++ its cin>> so wat is it in arduino??? im new to this.

Since the arduino is basically the bridge between the computer and the physical, where / how do you want to ask for input? what kind of input?
Do you want to ask a computer to provide the input over serial?
Show the question on a LCD and let them ‘type’ (in what form?) the input?

If this was on a computer, I’d expect you to mean a generic command line output and input method, but with the arduino, you have so many more options, that it might be a bit sad to assume you mean the same generic command line output and input method, since it wouldn’t really involve your little arduino :stuck_out_tongue:

ok so heres the problem. i have to do a project for school. i have to build an elevator and use the arduino to program the elevator. it starts at the 1st floor and then i have to choose what floor i want to go to. so the person would type in 3 or 4 or something in the computer and then the elevator would go up to the 3rd or 4th floor. its that simple. can someone just tell me the command to do that?

What computer? I thought we were talking about Arduinos here. Does your Arduino have a keyboard attached?

How many floors are you simulating? If it's only like 5, just attach 5 switches to the Arduino. Real elevators don't have keyboards. They have call buttons on each floor.

i want to say "enter a number", so then you would enter a number into the program and hit enter.

Arduino doesn't have any input commands that are that powerful; it exists at a rather more primitive level. You can use "Serial.read()" to read a single character, but you have to assemble the characters into lines and numbers on your own.