Can you help me with my project? Simple sound circuit does not work as published

I am a beginner with Arduino. I did the project attached, very simple keyboard instrument project. However, it does not work as supposed to. I want to know why if anyone can tell me.

The code is this:
int notes = {262,294,330,349};

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
int keyVal = analogRead(A0);
Serial.println(keyVal);

if(keyVal == 1023) {
tone(8, notes[0]);
} else if (keyVal >= 990 && keyVal <= 1010) {
tone(8, notes[1]);
} else if (keyVal >= 505 && keyVal <= 515) {
tone(8, notes[2]);
} else if(keyVal >= 5 && keyVal <=10) {
tone(8,notes[3]);
} else {
noTone(8);
}
}

The instructions say every switch will play a sound. The actual experience is that only the switch not connected to a resistance works fine. The switches connected to 10 Kohm and 220 ohm do not play any sound and the switch connected to 1 Mohm plays an unclear tone. I wonder if the resistances are of too high. Any hint may help me.

Thank you,

Miguel

Image from Original Post so we don’t have to download it. See this Image Guide

34b9e9d988e45dcb52166b911318a9f2aebee818.jpg

…R

What value is printed to the Serial Monitor for each key?

Maybe the values in your IF statements are not correct.

In any case I suggest simplifying the IF statements like this

if(keyVal > 1010) {
    tone(8, notes[0]);
  } else if (keyVal > 990) {
      tone(8, notes[1]);
  } else if (keyVal > 505) {
        tone(8, notes[2]);
  } else if(keyVal > 5) {
          tone(8,notes[3]);
  } else {
            noTone(8);
  }

…R

Now, let's see a schematic of HIS connections! Paul

Hi,
Poorly drawn schematic, make sure you have the junction of the resistors as I have highlighted.
As originally drawn, that would be a cross wire, not a junction.
2016E.jpg

Tom… :slight_smile: