Can you power an Arduino with a car battery-spec sheet says yes??

I am real new to working with electronics and reading spec sheets, but it seems to me that you can hook an Arduino Uno directly to a car battery through Vin and Ground and it will be OK. And reading the specs on Sparkfun you can do the same with the Pro Micro by connecting to RAW and Ground.

So we are talking about 13v and maybe a little more coming off the car battery...

From the specs:
Input Voltage (recommended)
7-12V
Input Voltage (limit)
6-20V

Anybody have a definitive answer that this is OK?

Read the official specs

If they are not genuine they may not take that voltage input though

--
Mark

If you read my email you would see I quoted the spec and it says the limit is 20v. A little over 13v is not 20v. As I mentioned I am new to electronics so don't how much stress this puts on the board.

Maybe if I explain my project it might help. I want to build something that is as small as possible, that goes on a motorcycle and that can drive a 3 watt LED. The LED will flash different rates depending on inputs. The electronics needs to go into the smallest possible waterproof box I can fit it into. The Light will be separate in a solid aluminum, waterproof holder. I want the light holder to be very small so it will contain just the LED and not other components.

I have built a prototype using a Pro Micro Arduino using a motorcycle battery running through a voltage regulator board, outputting 9V, attached to the RAW/GRN pins. The LED is being driven off the VIN pin through a 3v regulator chip controlled from one of the Arduino pins through a MOSFET. The LED draws something like .400ma.

I ran the prototype for about 2 hours last night without any heat issues so it appears to be working OK.

However the 9v voltage regulator board more that doubles the size of the whole project so would like to either power the board directly from the battery or find another solution that is a lot smaller.