Can you put a resistor either side of an electrolytic capacitor in series?

I'm just starting out learning electronics and wondered if anyone could tell me whether it matters what side of an electrolytic capacitor you put a resistor to restrict the current going in and out? (The resistor and capacitor are in series.)

All the examples I've seen have put the resistor on the positive terminal of the capacitor but I'm wondering whether that's just convention. The reason I think that is because in a simple closed circuit involving a battery and LED, the resistor can go either side of the LED (in series) to restrict the current (and voltage) and protect the LED. This is because the current is the same no matter where you are in a closed circuit. With this in mind, does the same apply to a capacitor and resistor in series, i.e. does it matter what side the resistor is?

In a simple series circuit the current is always the same anywhere in the circuit. However that does not mean it will work as expected if there are any connections to other circuit elements you may have wired to it. Better to post a complete schematic drawing including voltage and ground connections to make sure all is correct.

depends on what the capacitor is being used for.

on your windscreen wiper delay, the cap is charged slowly and once the stored voltage reaches the threshold, the wiper circuit is triggered, the wiper motor runs and the cap is drained.

think of the cap as being filled.

put the resistor on the top and it fills slowly.

put it on the bottom and it fills instantly and drains slowly.

So does this mean if I attach a resistor to the positive (+) terminal of an electrolytic capacitor, it will restrict the current going into the capacitor and if I attach a resistor to the negative (-) terminal it restricts the current going out when the capacitor is discharging. Is this right or have I got the wrong end of the stick? ;-)

It makes a difference in the application.